Board of Trustees

You are here

Secretary, US Department of Transportation (Retired)

Norman Y. Mineta is the President and CEO of Mineta and Associates, LLC and former U.S. Secretary of Commerce and U.S. Secretary of Transportation.

Read More
Karen Philbrick, PhD
Executive Director

Executive Director

Mineta Transportation Institute

Karen Philbrick serves as the executive director of the Mineta Transportation Institute (MTI) at San José State University, a position she has held since 2014. 

Read More
Will Kempton

Retired Transportation Executive

Transportation innovator and manager, Will Kempton, has dedicated more than 46 years of experience to transportation, public service and government affairs.

Read More
Jeff Morales
Vice Chair

Managing Principal

InfraStrategies, LLC

Jeff Morales has led some of the country’s largest and most complex transportation agencies and programs, employing innovative approaches to produce unprecedented results. 

Read More

Senior Director, Advisory Services, Project Development and Finance


Winsome is a public transportation professional with over 25 years in the engineering consulting industry – with a focus on transit project development and delivery. 

Read More


Mehlman Castagnetti Rosen & Thomas

David Castagnetti is a legislative and political strategist with a history of delivering for clients. A trusted Democratic advisor who understands how to talk to business, he has played a critical role in shaping many significant policy issues of the past two decades.

Read More

Vice President

Americas & U.S. Government Relations Hewlett-Packard Enterprise

Maria Cino is Vice President, Americas & U.S. Government Relations at Hewlett-Packard Enterprise. 

Read More


Crunican, LLC

Grace Crunican, principal of Crunican, LLC, has held key leadership posts in the transportation industry for over 40 years.

Read More

Managing Director

LOSSAN Rail Corridor Agency

Ms. DeMartino serves as the Managing Director for the LOSSAN Rail Corridor Agency, leading efforts to improve passenger rail ridership, reliability, coordination, and safety. 

Read More

Senior Fellow

Silicon Valley American Leadership Forum

John Flaherty has been at the intersection of transportation and technology for over three decades with experience in both the public and private sectors.

Read More

President and CEO


The Amtrak Board of Directors appointed William J. Flynn President and Chief Executive Officer effective April 15, 2020. Mr. Flynn is the twelfth executive to lead America's Railroad since the company began operations in 1971.

Read More

Board Member

San Mateo County Transit District (SamTrans)

Rose Castillo Guilbault is a Communications and Public Affairs Executive with an impressive history of success in business, media, and the community.

Read More

Senior Director, Special Projects, TAP Technologies

Los Angeles County Metropolitan Transportation Authority (LA Metro)

Kyle Holland is a Senior Director for the TAP smartcard program at LA Metro where she oversees Customer Experience.

Read More

President and CEO

Association of American Railroads

As the Association of American Railroads (AAR’s) president and CEO, Jefferies advocates for and works with member railroads to ensure the continued viability of America’s railroad industry. 

Read More

Principal and Chair of Board

Lea+Elliott, Inc.

Diane Woodend Jones began her career at D/FW Airport Board in 1980 and later joined the transportation consulting firm, Lea+Elliott, Inc., in 1989. During the past 30 years, she has been directly involved in a number of projects specializing in the transportation/aviation industry.

Read More


California State Transportation Agency (CalSTA)

David S. Kim became the third Secretary of the California State Transportation Agency (CalSTA) on July 1, 2019 following his appointment by Governor Newsom in April 2019. 

Read More

Executive Director 

Metropolitan Transportation Commission (MTC)

Therese Watkins McMillan is Executive Director of the Metropolitan Transportation Commission (MTC), assuming the agency's top staff position March 1, 2019. She also serves as the top executive for the Association of Bay Area Governments (ABAG).

Read More

President & COO

Econolite Group Inc.

Abbas Mohaddes is the President and COO of Econolite Group, Inc., a leader in Traffic Management Systems and Sensors technology based in the United States.

Read More

Vice President – Regulatory and Policy

United Airlines

Stephen Morrissey is vice president of regulatory and policy for United.

Read More

Lucas College & Graduate School of Business

San José State University

Dr. Dan Moshavi joined SJSU in 2017 as dean of the Lucas College and Graduate School of Business.

Read More


California Department of Transportation (Caltrans)

Toks Omishakin was appointed the 33rd Director of the California Department of Transportation (Caltrans) by Governor Gavin Newsom and sworn in October 2019.

Read More

Chairman & CEO

Allied Telesis, Inc

Mr. Takayoshi Oshima is the Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Allied Telesis Holding K.K., and Chief Executive Officer of the Allied Telesis, Inc. Group. 

Read More


Transportation Trades Department, AFL-CIO

In 2021, Greg Regan was elected President of the Transportation Trades Department, AFL-CIO, a labor organization consisting of 33 unions that together represent workers in all areas of transportation.

Read More

President and CEO

American Public Transportation Association (APTA)

Paul Skoutelas was recently selected in an unanimous vote to become the President and CEO of the American Public Transportation Association. Previously he was National Director of WSP USA’s Transit & Rail Technical Excellence Center (TEC).

Read More


Systra USA

Kimberly Slaughter is SYSTRA USA’s chief executive officer. She is focused on promoting the company’s vision of being the signature team for transportation solutions.

Read More


Union Station Redevelopment Corporation

As the President and CEO, Beverley’s primary task is to uphold the USRC mission statement, including management of the leased operations of the multi modal transportation and retail center, and oversight of the redevelopment of the station complex alongside planning partners Amtrak and Akridge.

Read More

Executive Director

American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO)

Jim Tymon is the Executive Director of the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO), a non-profit, non-partisan association that supports and represents the interests and missions of state departments of transportation.

Read More



Contact Us

SJSU Research Foundation   210 N. 4th Street, 4th Floor, San Jose, CA 95112    Phone: 408-924-7560   Email: