Mineta Transportation Institute students and leaders recognized by CUTC

You are here

Annual awards banquet will take place January 6, 2018 in Washington, D.C.
December 11, 2017
San José, CA

The Council of University Transportation Centers (CUTC) will recognize three Mineta Transportation Institute students and leaders at their annual awards reception and banquet in Washington, D.C. on January 6, 2018.

MTI Board of Trustees member, Will Kempton, will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award for Transportation Professional and Public Service. Kempton retired this year after more than 43 years of dedicated service in the transportation field. Most recently, he served as Executive Director of Transportation California, an industry-based transportation advocacy group dedicated to the advancement of California’s transportation program. Transportation California has worked for years to increase funding for the state’s ailing transportation infrastructure and was a leader in the effort to pass Senate Bill 1. Previously, Kempton served as Executive Director of the California Transportation Commission, CEO of the Orange County Transportation Authority, Director of the California Department of Transportation, and Executive Director of the Santa Clara County Traffic Authority, managing its billion-dollar highway sales tax construction program, the first of its kind in California and widely viewed as one of the most successful ever undertaken.

The Neville A. Parker Award recognizes non-thesis masters project reports in two fields: policy and planning, and science and technology. Bill Chapin, a recent graduate of the master of urban planning program at San José State University will receive this year’s award in policy and planning for his report titled Parking Spaces to Living Spaces: Reform and Housing Affordability in Central San Francisco. Bill also served as a research assistant for the MTI research publication What Do Americans Think About Federal Tax Options to Support Public Transit, Highways, and Local Streets and Roads? Results from Year Six of a National Survey.

Aaron Vogel, a Master of Science in Transportation Management student at San José State University will receive a University Transportation Center Outstanding Student of the Year Award. Aaron has studied several best practices in multimodal operations in Norway, Paris, and throughout the U.S. He has been involved with every mode of transit operations from small to large, and has spearheaded several service improvement efforts, particularly for his current employer, the Santa Clara Valley Transportation Authority (VTA). Recently, was selected as one of Mass Transit Magazine’s Top 40 Under 40.

MTI is delighted to celebrate the accomplishments of these outstanding individuals at the CUTC Awards Reception and Banquet in Washington, DC on January 6. 2018.


At the Mineta Transportation Institute (MTI) at San José State University (SJSU) our mission is to increase mobility for all by improving the safety, efficiency, accessibility, and convenience of our nation's’ transportation system through research, education, workforce development and technology transfer. We help create a connected world. MTI was founded in 1991 and is funded through the US Departments of Transportation and Homeland Security, the California Department of Transportation, and public and private grants. MTI is affiliated with SJSU’s Lucas College and Graduate School of Business.


Hilary Nixon, Ph.D.
MTI Director of Research and Technology Transfer


Contact Us

SJSU Research Foundation   210 N. 4th Street, 4th Floor, San Jose, CA 95112    Phone: 408-924-7560   Email: mineta-institute@sjsu.edu