2018 Garrett Morgan Sustainable Transportation Competition

US Dot Garrett Morgan logo

The Garrett Morgan Sustainable Transportation Competition was instituted by former Secretary of Transportation Rodney Slater to encourage young people to consider careers in transportation. The Mineta Transportation Institute (MTI) has sponsored a competition every year since 2001.

If you are a middle-school teacher, you and your students can compete to win up to $1000 for your classroom, plus an all-expenses-paid trip to San Jose, California, to be honored at the MTI Awards Banquet. Sponsored by the US Department of Transportation, the California Department of Transportation, and other industry partners, this program engages students in math and science through a competition focused on sustainable transportation.

Here’s how it works

  • Mineta Transportation Institute (MTI) provides curriculum workbooks and teacher guides at no cost.
  • Each participating teacher helps his or her class (or a team from the class) create a sustainable transportation project to present to the US Secretary of Transportation and other transportation leaders in Spring 2018. Teams receive $50 to help with project expenses.
  • The project can be a demonstration, model, PowerPoint, or other presentation suitable for a videoconference broadcast.
  • In the spring (usually mid-April),* each participating team presents its work at a local videoconference facility where their presentation is streamed live coast-to-coast to the other teams, featured speakers, and judges, all of whom can see each other and interact as if they were in the same room.
  • Judges will score the presentations, and the winners will be announced within one week of the presentations.
  • First-place team receives a $1,000 cash prize, a plaque, and an all-expenses-paid trip for three to San José, CA for the MTI awards banquet in June 2018.
  • Second-place team receives $300 and a plaque.
  • Third-place team receives $200 and a plaque.
  • All students who compete will receive a signed certificate.

Contact MTI Director of Research and Technology Transfer Dr. Hilary Nixon for more information on how to participate.

* The specific date of the presentations depends on the Secretary of Transportation’s schedule. School blackout dates (e.g., spring break, state testing, etc.) are avoided.

Entry forms and resources

Sponsoring Organization Resources

More resources coming soon!

Learn more

National Symposium and Videoconference on Sustainable Transportation Reports
YearDownload PDFView as Web Page
2013 HTML
2012 HTML
2008 HTML
2007 HTML
2006 HTML
2005 HTML
2004 HTML
2003 HTML
2001 HTML