

15th Annual Mineta National Transportation Policy Summit

Beyond the Pump: Rethinking Transportation Funding Without the Fuel Tax

In Partnership with The Commonwealth Club World Affairs

Friday, May 17, 2024

10:00 — 11:30a.m. (PT)





Event Overview



While the climate benefits from booming electric vehicle sales, the nation's transportation system faces an unfortunate predicament: less gasoline and diesel purchased means dwindling fuel tax revenue. Fuel tax revenue provides a core funding source for operating, maintaining, and improving transportation systems, so policymakers must find a replacement as soon as possible. This event explores such options as mileage fees, higher annual vehicle fees, or abandoning the user-pay principle and relying on general fund revenue.

For information on past Mineta National Transportation Summit events, please visit:

https://transweb.sjsu.edu/Past-Mineta-National-Transportation-Summits

Program





Karen Philbrick, PhD

Executive Director, Mineta Transportation Institute (MTI)

MTI Tax Survey Presenter

Asha Weinstein Agrawal, PhD

Director, MTI National Transportation Finance Center

Federal Funding, Past and Future

Jeff Davis

Senior Fellow, Eno Center for Transportation

Panelists

Carlos Braceras

Executive Director, Utah Department of Transportation

Tim Gatz

Executive Director, Oklahoma Department of Transportation

Ed Sniffen

Director, Hawaii Department of Transportation

Panel Moderator

David "Davey" S. Kim

MTI Trustee; Senior Vice President & Principal, National Transportation Policy and Multimodal Strategy, WSP

Speakers & Panelists





Asha Weinstein Agrawal, PhD

Director, MTI National Transportation
Finance Center

Asha Weinstein Agrawal is Director of MTl's National Transportation Finance Center, MTl Education Director, and Professor of Urban and Regional Planning at San José State University. Her research agenda is guided by a commitment to the principles of sustainability and equity: what policy and planning tools can communities adopt to encourage environmentally friendly travel and improve accessibility for people struggling with poverty or other disadvantages? Agrawal has researched transportation revenue policy for over 20 years, focusing on holistic evaluation of tax and fee options.



Carlos Braceras
Executive Director, Utah Department of Transportation

Carlos Braceras is the executive director of the Utah Department of Transportation. He has been with UDOT since 1986. His goal is to create the safest transportation system in the world to provide choices for all users to get where they want, when they want, in the way they want.

He has helped build an organization that is trusted by its partners and the public. Braceras is currently AASHTO Agency Administration Managing Committee chair, member and past chair of the TRB Executive Committee, and member of the board of directors and past president of AASHTO. Braceras moved to Utah in 1980 with four friends after graduating from college to ski for one year. It's been one great ski season.



Jeff Davis
Senior Fellow, Eno Center for Transportation

Jeff Davis is a Senior Fellow with the Eno Center for Transportation and Editor of the *Eno Transportation* Weekly. Davis came to Washington in 1988 to attend The American University and soon began working on Capitol Hill. For six years he worked on a wide variety of legislative, budget process oversight, and parliamentary procedure issues. In January 1996 he joined a transportation consulting firm and worked extensively on the FAA, Amtrak, and surface transportation reauthorization laws. He founded his own research and consulting business in June 1998 and published Transportation Weekly, a news service covering federal transportation and public works, from 1999-2014. Davis joined the Eno Center in January 2015. His work focuses on analysis of the federal transportation budget and the long-term trends in transportation funding and policy.



Tim GatzExecutive Director, Oklahoma Department of Transportation

Tim Gatz currently serves as the Governor's appointee as Executive Director of the Oklahoma Department of Transportation.

Beginning his agency career in 1990 as a drafting technician, Gatz has more than 30 years of service with ODOT. His dynamic transportation knowledge is rooted in his project management and program delivery experience, in addition to his time serving as ODOT Deputy Director. Gatz has previously served in appointed roles as the Oklahoma Secretary of Transportation and the Executive Director of the Oklahoma Turnpike Authority.

He is a member of the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials, and the American Society of Landscape Architects.



David "Davey" S. Kim

MTI Trustee; Senior Vice President & Principal, National Transportation Policy and Multimodal Strategy, WSP

David S. Kim is a transportation executive with WSP USA, a global engineering and professional services firm. In his role as Senior Vice President and Principal, National Transportation Policy and Multimodal Strategy, Kim works with WSP's Advisory national business line, collaborating with senior transportation executives in the public and private sector across the United States. He guides policymaking that supports federal funding for transportation projects anticipated under the Bipartisan Infrastructure Law enacted in November 2021. Prior to joining WSP, Kim served as Secretary of the California State Transportation Agency (CalSTA). He also had leadership roles with the Hyundai Motor Company, Los Angeles County Metropolitan Transportation Authority, the U.S. Department of Transportation, and Federal Highway Administration (FHWA).



Karen Philbrick, PhD

Executive Director, Mineta Transportation Institute

Karen Philbrick, PhD is the Executive Director of the Mineta Transportation Institute. Among her most notable achievements, Philbrick has been appointed four times by the U.S. Secretary of Transportation (Secretaries LaHood, Foxx, Chao, and Buttigieg) to sit on the USDOT Transit Advisory Committee for Safety. Philbrick serves the industry through elected positions on the boards of the American Public Transportation Association, the International Transportation Learning Center, NASA's Academic Mission Services Science and Technology Council, and WTS International. Philbrick has received awards from the CUTC, the Conference of Minority Transportation Officials, and the Silicon Valley Business Journal. In 2023, the WTS Bay Area Chapter awarded her the Katherine G. Johnson Trailblazer of the Year Award.



Ed Sniffen

Director, Hawaii Department of Transportation

Ed Sniffen was appointed Director of the Hawaii Department of Transportation (HDOT) on December 5, 2022 and confirmed by the Senate committee. As Director, he is responsible for the State Transportation Infrastructure—Airports, Commercial Harbors, and Highways. As the Chief Executive for the Department, Sniffen's goals are improving safety, preserving and upgrading of transportation systems; ensuring efficiency and transparency in Departmental Operations, and pursuing opportunities and innovative strategies to leverage HDOT resources and private partnerships to positively impact the highest goals of the State including Housing, Energy, Food Security, Education, and Climate resiliency to improve the quality of life for residents and the experiences of visitors.

For information on past Mineta National Transportation Summit events, please visit:

https://transweb.sjsu.edu/Past-Mineta-National-Transportation-Summits



@MinetaTrans #MTIPolicySummit #MTISummit24



@MinetaTransportation



www.linkedin.com/company/mineta-transportation-institute