MNTRC Newsletter Vol 19, Issue 3: Winter 2012

USHSR honors Rod Diridon with lifetime achievement award

(Based on a news release from the US High Speed Rail Association)

Rod Diridon receives lifetime achievement award.

Rod Diridon accepts the US High Speed Rail Lifetime Achievement award.

BREAKING NEWS – The US High Speed Rail Association (USHSR) presented this year's High Speed Rail Awards to Rod Diridon, Dan Richard, and Dr. Anthony Perl at its tenth High Speed Rail Conference in Los Angeles, December 3-5, 2012.

Rod Diridon: lifetime of transportation leadership

The Lifetime Achievement award acknowledges individuals who have spent years dedicated to improving transportation options in America. Diridon has served as executive director of the Mineta Transportation Institute, and he has chaired more than 100 international, national, state and local programs, most related to transit and the environment.

Mr. Diridon was appointed by Governors Davis and Schwarzenegger, in 2001 and 2006, respectively, and to the California High Speed Rail Authority Board, of which he is chair emeritus.

“Heroes of HSR” award for Dan Richard

Dan Richard was presented the Heroes of High Speed Rail Award, given to individuals who have made a major contribution bringing high speed rail to America. He is Chairperson of the California High Speed Rail Authority, and has been a principal of Dan Richard Advisors since 2010. Mr. Richard was an elected member of the San Francisco Bay Area Rapid Transit District from 1992 to 2004, where he served twice as president of the Board. 

Anthony Perl earns Transport Revolution award

Anthony Perl was presented the Transport Revolution Award, given to those who advocate for sweeping change in American transportation. Dr. Perl is an international authority on transportation and energy, and on their interconnection. He is Director of the Urban Studies Program at Simon Fraser University in Vancouver, British Columbia. Dr. Perl is a book author who is widely published in many journals and professional publications.

Award recipients hailed as “visionaries”

“On behalf of the US High Speed Rail Association membership, we are proud to honor these great leaders,” said USHSR President Andy Kunz.“It's visionaries like these who change society for the better.”

USHSR's High Speed Rail Awards honor individuals who have the vision and courage to help bring high speed rail to America. The award recipients range from visionaries to those at the forefront of the movement to bring 21st-century transportation to America.